Salem by El Collie

‘Motherlode’ – collage by El Collie
I have burned at the stake long enough
To atone for any magic
I may have inadvertently
Or deliberately performed
Some forgotten century past.
I have given myself up to smoke
To be cured like a butchered ham
Devoid of rationale when served up
Steaming on sterling platters
In overfed rooms.
I have tasted the last ash of myself
Suspended over an unsteady flame,
Fanned by the hands of senseless fear.
These charred remains have lost their captive power
Even the pain is too black to be identified.
I tell you
I have had it.
I am climbing out of
This hysterical holocaust
And going home.
El Collie
1980
Leave a Reply

