Empty Feelings that Darken my Soul

Anj crosses the water – @anjkan

My heart aches for you
Yet I have no tears
Sadness grips me
Wine colored in its longing

I Dreamed I was on the moon
Looking for moonsilver
Many people were there
All of them searching as well

The anguish of my burning
Cannot fill the shadows
Those dark spaces
You used to fill
How I long for you

He told me he was a seer
That he was of the moon
That he could show me 
where to find moonsilver

Not even the rising sun
Can banish them
These empty feelings
That darken my soul
My longings for you

I was worried and 
reluctant to go with him
Afraid that once we got upriver
He would abandon me
But he knew of moonsilver

Cold, cold, cold is my heart
Like silver ice
Like frozen fire
Like your eyes
When you don’t wish to see me

Walking on the moon
Seems so much easier
It has even made me smile
I knew I wasn’t on Earth
But where are you now

When I miss you 
I feel glacier slow
My thoughts won’t move
My breathing stops
I’m lost in the snow

As we walked
We got to talking
He asked why I wanted moon silver
I told him because it was magical
He slapped his thigh and laughed

What can I do
Your breath gives me life
Your heart pumps my blood
Your eyes keep me going
Without you I’m just a shadow

This is how I see it he said

The space between breaths
Is where truth’s magic lives

The space between heartbeats
Is the place where it thrives


In the end you will leave me
I’m like a chill wind
Blowing through your life
Darkening your eyes 
With my longing
Wondering where you have gone

yamabuki
Sept 2010

Parts of this poem
Come from my version of
“Given in Parting”
From a chinese poet
Tang Poet Du Mu
I did not care for
The translations I saw
and made my own version:

My heart aches
Yet I have no tears for you
Sadness grips me
Wine colored in its longing
The anguish of my burning
Cannot fill the shadows
Those dark spaces
You used to fill
Not even the rising sun
Can banish them
These empty feelings
That darken my soul
This was interspaced
With a poem of a dream
Which I modified
To fit the poem

The wonderful image
Of anjkan
Crossing the water
Is a symbol of traveling
An auspicious symbol for her  
My thanks to 
@anjkan

yamabuki
Leave a Reply

