Smoke and Mirrors

‘Make a dare’ – @anjkan




0. Riddles and Signs

“The man
Who has
No imagination
Has no wings.”
~Mohammed Ali

I. Lies

Your lying eyes
Bring me
Nothing
But Pain
Nothing
But Sadness
Have you 
Not Seen
My tears
Falling
Into
the Darkness

II. Going Nowhere

I’m on the road
Again…
My poetry
In the back
Wrapped
All in blue
Like an
Imitation
Christo
Still 
I wonder
Will I ever 
Find my way
Back 
To you?

III. Silver cords

There’s
That
Irony
Thing
Again
I see it
Reflected
In the water
Wrapped in
Cold Despair
Shaking
And Shivering
-Unable
To move-
Can you
See it too

IV. Blackness

Why
In my
Old age
Am I
Going
Blind
Again

V. Follow the Money

There’s a 
Healthy
Export trade
In souls
From London
To Hell
But like
In all trade
The Devil’s
In the Details

VI. Memento Mori

It’s taken
Years,
But it’s
Finally happened
The welcome mat
For Demons
In the non-city
Of Washington
Has been
Decisively
Hidden
From sight

VII. Spent Dreams

My Fortune says
That I am brave
And industrious
But now
That I’ve
Had my
Green Tea
And 
Moon cakes
I’m going
Back
To bed.

VIII. Twisting Shadows

Be brave!
You will
Triumph!
For at least
The moon
Isn’t
A straight
Place
Sewn
Into
Curving 
Space
Not 
This time
Anyway

IX. What to Do

Tomorrow
I am going
To be
Out the door
Working
For the Man
Working
Towards 
Death
Because really
What’s the
Alternative

X. Searching for Godot

Today Godot
Reminded me
That I
Always 
Sucked
At Dancing
So I asked
If we
Could 
Play…
Rock
Paper
Scissors
Instead

XI. Dark Places

The Demon Cat!
The Demon Cat!
It sucks
Your bones
It eats
Your fat

XII. Gri Gri

Silver Bullets
Only gets
The adults
And after 
Their bodies
Have died
We party
But then
The eggs
Hatch out
Full of
Horror
And it’s all
Got to be
Done 
Once
Again

XIII. That Song Again

For the
Love of God,
No one
Should be
Taught
To play
That song
Drink
That Wine
Or
Die
That way
In their
Dreams
Much less
In life

XIV. Imagine

I give
Sorrow-spiders
Confident Smiles
As I raise
My Shotgun
Full of
Bullets
Which I
Need
Aplenty…

XV bloody Death

They say
It’s not a
Monster
At all
That it’s
A man
Who 
Dresses up
Like a Bat
To, ah,
Prowl 
The city
Looking
For
Amusement

XVI. Smoke and Mirrors

I received
A postcard
From you
In London
Saying
‘I seem
To have
Gone mad
Brother
-I’m waiting 
For m
New 
Shadow-
Have you
Seen it?’

Yamabuki
Aug 2010

Leave a Reply

