Songs of the Soul

‘Watching the world go by’
@anjkan her vision engages



You say I don’t know you.

Can this be true?
Can we not know each other
Are we all Narcissus
Caught in our watery mirrors?

Music makes all of us cry
Not always of course
But when flying home
To what you had thought lost
How could you not cry?

The way you shuffle a deck of cards
You think I’d rather watch that
Than look into your eyes
Those infinite depths of soul
I could never look away from you

Spinning a pen while reading Poetry
You have many talents to display
Like a fast turning carousel
Rushing madly around the world
Have you read any obstinate men lately?

I remember kissing Mary Elizabeth Coleridge
We kissed goodbye for the last time,
Not a month before she died
On holiday in Harrogate in 1907
Was that you I kissed so passionately?

You and your crushes are legendary
I envy your ability to find lovers
And new words are aphrodisiacs
Seductive as your sensual sway
Hypnotic and deadly as Dracula’s fangs

And clouds, clouds I’ll never know them all
You never tire of their creative whimsy
Their beauty and sadness
Matching your moods so magically
Matching the depth of your sighs

Yes I missed your humming song
My hearing has never been good
I did see a pretty hummingbird this morning
Playing outside your window
I could not stay away from you for long

I’ve always been partial to the 3rd floor
Though attics are magical places too
So high up in the air as if flying
And the light shines so mysteriously
I shall do my best to find you, my love

But love is the real mystery
Though its key opens the way to you
Love’s body boldly goes in
Where even angels fear to tread
Can you not open your heart, even a little?

‘Chill pill’ – by @anjkan


Yamabuki
June 2010
Written in response
To Tammy Ho Lai-Ming’s
Leave a Reply

