Crazy, Man

Portrait of Daniel-Henry Kahnweiler, 1910,
The Art Institute of Chicago.
Picasso’s Analytical Cubist portrait
of his longtime art dealer.
Picasso wrote of Kahnweiler
What would have become of us
if Kahnweiler hadn’t had a business sense?

Crazy, man
Catching words
Right or wrong
Is for the birds

Life’s complex
Not black or white
Nothing’s simple
Wrong or right

Shades of gray
Light the way
That’s what I see
That’s what I say

Am I crazy
Am I sane
It’s all just words
In my brain

Courts in session
Jury’s here
If I’m guilty
The price is dear

Go to prison
Or going free
There’s always more
That I can be

Yamabuki
Feb 2010

The above image is in the public domain because under United States copyright law, originality of expression is necessary for copyright protection, and a mere photograph of an out-of-copyright two-dimensional work may not be protected under American copyright law.

Leave a Reply

